The CAF Confederation Cup is a tournament controlled by The Confederation of African Football. It is the African equivalent of EuropesThe UEFA Cup or The Europa League.

67 teams take part in the tournament in knockout stages until 8 teams are left, these 8 teams are then divided into groups of 4 and the runner up and winners from each group take part in semi-finals and then the resulting winners of the semi-finals take part in a final.

8 teams to lose from The Round of 16 in The CAF Champions League tournament are then entered into The CAF Confederation Cup. The tournament was founded in 2004.

Previous Winners of CAF Confederation Cup

Club SportifSfaxienThe Tunisian club is the most successful club in the tournament having won the tournament a record 2 times in 2007 and 2008. They also finished runners-up in 2010. Number 2 on the list is also a Tunisian club ES Sahel having won it once in 2006. Number 3 on the list is FAR Rabat having won the tournament in 2005 just once.

They also finished runners-up in 2006. No 4 on the list is Ghanaian Club Accra Hearts of Oak SC who won it in 2004 in the opening year. No 5 on the list is StadeMalien the Mali club who won the tournament in 2009. No 6 on the list is FUS Rabat who is the last and defending Champions.

The Moroccan club won it in 2010. No other club has won the tournament in its history. Country-wise Tunisia is the leader on the table as their clubs have won the tournament 3 times while Morocco is number 2 on the table. Their clubs have won it two times in its history.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *