The CAF Champions League is a football tournament controlled by The Confederation of African Football that happens every year in Africa. The top teams/clubs from Africa’s top football leagues are invited to this tournament.

The resulting winner of the tournament also gets to play in The FIFA Club World Cup which also happens every year. The tournament was founded back in 1964. The tournament starts with 52 teams in total which compete in knockout phases until only 8 teams are left.

The remaining 8 teams are divided into two groups of 4 with the winner and runner up of each group facing each other in the semi-final and then the resulting final.

Previous Winners of CAF Champions League 

The current champions of the tournament are TP Mazembe while the most successful club to win the tournament is The Egyptian club Al-Ahly which has won it a record 6 times.

Egyptian dominance has pretty strong over the years but is fading the last couple of years as Zamalek also an Egyptian club is no 2 on the all-time list having won the tournament 5 times. The DR Congo club TP Mazembe are third in the list having won it 4 times and have won the last 2 editions of the tournament in 2009 and 2010.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *