Argentina and Uruguay football teams are considered to be the most successful teams both holding the title of Copa America football tournament 14 times.

Uruguay has been in the most semis as top 4 with a total of 34 times while on the other hand, the Argentinean football team has made its way to most of the finals as top 2 with a total of 26 times. Brazil is taken as an emerging team over the last 14 years and is also one of the top teams of the tournament.

The chart below shows the top seven teams win their winning years.

1. Argentina

1921, 1925, 1927, 1929,1937, 1941, 1945,1946, 1947,1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993

2. Uruguay

1916, 1917, 1920, 1923,1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956,1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995

3. Brazil

1919, 1922, 1929, 1989, 1997,1999, 2004, 2007

4. Paraguay

1953, 1979

5. Peru

1939, 1975

6. Colombia


7. Bolivia


While Chile, Venezuela, and Ecuador never won any title.

Copa America being the oldest football competition holds a series of records that were made in its 95 years history. Let it be 1987 Maranona’s win against Ecuador scoring two goals one after one or 1999 Martin Palermo getting Guinness world record for missing 3 in a row spot-kicks. Records have always been made in the Copa America football tournament.

One of the major records was the consecutive three-time victory of the Argentinean football team in 1945, 1946, and 1947 with the help of magnificent Argentine player Norberto Mendez who’s holding a record for making most goals in Copa America competition.

Venezuela football strikers hold a record of 86 strikes in the year 2007, which is to date, is a record!

The Brazilian football team holds the record for winning not only the Copa America football tournament but also FIFA World Cup the very same year!

It was truly the decade of the Brazilian football team which secured the winning position in 4 out of 5 tournaments played in the last decade.

This is not all for Brazil, the ever famous Brazilian football player Pele scored 8 goals in 6 matches in the 1959 tournament, the year when Copa America happened twice!!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *