FC Red Bull Salzburg, the current Austrian Bundesliga Champions has a total of six Austrian division one trophies. It won its first league trophy in the 1993-94 season by finishing two points ahead of FK Austria Wien.

The Bulls claimed their second trophy the following year based on goal difference when it drew with SK Strum Graz on level points. Both these trophies were won when the club was known as SV Austria Salzburg. The club won its third trophy as SV Wüstenrot Salzburg in the 1996-97 season.

The Bulls then had to wait for a decade to win its next championship trophy and it turned out to be worth waiting. Under the experienced Italian tactician, Giovanni Trapattoni Bulls won the league comfortably finishing the league with a club record of 75 points with an impressive goal difference of 47.

Alexander Zickler finished the season with a tally of 22 goals. The next trophy came in the 2008-09 season thanks to a club scoring record by Marc Janko who netted 39 times.

Amazingly, the club has yet to win the Austrian Cup. The cup has become a holy grail for the club as they have finished as runners-up four times.

On the European front, the club’s best performance came in 1994 as SV Casino Salzburg when it finished second to Inter Milan football club.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *