FC Red Bull Salzburg, the Austrian football club was founded in 1933 by the name of SV Austria Salzburg. It is based in the western part of Salzburg called Wals-Siezenheim.

The club is nicknamed Die Bullen or The Bulls as it is currently owned by the energy drink giant, Red Bull. The Bulls play their home matches at Red Bull Arena in red and white colors.

The club was formed by the merger of two clubs and was renamed in 1978 as SV Casino Salzburg when Casino Austria became its new sponsor. In 1997, the Wüstenrot Group became its main sponsor the club changed its name to SV Wüstenrot Salzburg. Red Bull bought the club in 2005 and rebranded it as a new team with again a new name FC Red Bull Salzburg.

This takeover by Red Bull brought in wholesome changes as the club decided to change its traditional violet colors to new red and white with the Red Bull logo. This move angered some of the diehard fan clubs as they felt Red Bull has turned their beloved club into a business. This saw the emergence of a new club SV Austria Salzburg, owned by fans wearing the original Violet colors.

The club is the current Austrian Bundesliga Champions.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *