The Screen Awards

The Star Screen Awards or commonly known as the Screen Awards are the awards of India which are given to honor the achievements of films and artists of the Indian Industry.

In screen awards nominees are selected by professionals belonging to Indian film industry. These awards were the initiatives of Mr. Viveck Goneka in 1994 to acknowledge the excellence in Bollywood.

These awards are the first awards in India which were ever conducted annually. These awards in history have been known by many covers; Screen Weekly Awards, Screen Videocon Awards, Star Screen Award, Color Screen Awards and Life OK Screen Awards, but from 2001 to onwards these awards are sponsored by Videocon International and thus are called as Screen Videocon Awards.

Screen awards are awarded on basis of four categories: Jury Choice, Critic Choice, Technical Awards and Special Awards. These awards have been produced from 2000 onwards by Diamond Pictures.

By the end of 2017 these awards were presented to honor the achievements of the 2017 film industry of Bollywood; hosted by Bhumi Penadekar, and was studded with the sizzling performances of the big stars of Indian Film Industry like Salman Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Varun Dhawan and many others.

So, these awards are kind of a gift to people on New Year Eve as it has the performances of those artists which are loved by every single man in India. In the end it was a full package any one can desire of at New Year Eve. Similarly, we’ll be able to witness them again on the New Year ’s Eve in 2018.

Filmfare Awards

Filmfare Awards commonly known as Clares are annually presented to honor the achievements of artists and technical staff for all the work done in Hindi language. These awards are the oldest award ceremony in India. These were first started in 1954 as National Film Awards. These awards changed their name as Clares on the name of the editor of Times of India, Clare Mendonca.

These awards are presented yearly by the Times Group of India. In 1956, these awards were shifted to be awarded by both the public and the jury. In 1990, these awards were broadcasted live, but after some time it was discontinued due to some reasons not known.

The Filmfare awards are also referred to as the Academy Awards of India like those in United States. These awards were telecasted on Sony International Television India from 2000 to 2017 but from 2018 onwards it will be telecasted on Colors.

The Filmfare Statue is also known as the Black Lady because it is of the shape a woman with uprising hands. This statue is colored silver to celebrate silver jubilee (25 years) and is colored gold to celebrate the golden jubilee (50 years). Since 2013 this statue was given a 3D appearance to show their pace with technology.

This ceremony was first held on 21st March, 1954. Recently this award has been held on 20th January, 2018. The 63rd Filmfare Awards were hosted by Shah Rukh Khan and Karan Johar. These awards include the sizzling performances of Akshay Kumar, Parineeti Chopra and others.

31 total awards were presented in different categories. Four categories of awards were presented. These awards are the most popular awards in India and are also considered and matched IIFA Awards:

IIFA or commonly known as International Indian Film Academy Awards are presented annually to honor those who had worked beyond a certain limit in Indian Film Industry. This ceremony was presented first time in 2000 in The Millennium Dome in London, United Kingdom.

Since then, these awards have been taking place in different countries of world. Recently, the 18th IIFA Awards were presented in East Rutherford, New Jersey, North America on 14th – 15th July 2017.

These awards are presented by International Indian Film Academy Awards. This event has expanded from a single night event to three complete fun filled days.

Amitabh Bachchan is the brand ambassador of the IIFA Awards. These awards are produced by Wizcraft International. These awards are on aired on Star TV, Star Plus and Color TV.

IIFA Awards are given in three categories. These categories are:

  1. Popular Awards
  2. Musical Awards
  3. Technical Awards

In 2018, the ceremony was hosted by none other than Karan Johar and Saif Ali Khan. These awards were starred by the sizzling performances of Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Alia Bhatt, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon, Shahid Kapoor and many more other performances

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *