The women’s singles Tennis rules have changed over the period since the first edition. The event, since the commencement, has been played on the knock-out format which means that any player who fails to win even a single match will exit from entering the next round.

For women, the French Open format comprised of three sets only for the decider. The best of twelve point tie break was introduced in the women French Open singles title in 1973 for the first two sets to decide the match in the third and final set.

Although many players have shown outstanding skills on the French Open court very few have been able to win without losing a set. This feat was achieved by Evonne Goolagong Cawley in 1971, Billie Jean King in 1972, Chris Evert in 1974, Steffi Graf in 1988, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario in 1994, and Henin did it twice, first in 2006 and then in 2007.

Monica Seles and Arantxa Sanchez Vicario won the French Open Championship title three times. It was only in 2011 when a Chinese player Li Na became the first Chinese player ever in history (male or female) to win a Grand Slam singles title and that too the French Open.

The era of 1979-1970 in women’s French Open tennis tournaments has been a decade of famous tennis players like Chris Evert, Billie Jean King, and Margaret Smith-Court. Among these famous female tennis players, Chris Evert ruled this era in French Open Championship.

The list of female winners and runner-ups of the French Open tennis championship during 1979-1970 is as follow:

Tags: best female tennis players, Billie Jean King, Chris Evert, Chronological list of women’s Grand Slam tennis champions, female french open winners, French Open, French Open Championship, french open female runner ups, french open female winners and runner ups 1979-1970, french open winners, Grand Slam, Margaret Smith Court, sports, tennis, World number one male tennis player rankings

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *