Wimbledon Championship, French Open, Australian Open, and US Open are the four most prestigious tennis events. They are often called Grand Slam events. When a player wins all these four prestigious events in the same calendar year, he/she is said to have won the Grand Slam Title. Very few players have been able to achieve this remarkable feat of winning the Grand Slam title. To compete for the grand slam, players must play a series of tournaments that lead to one of the championships.

also read

Australian Open Championship

The first major grand slam championship of the year is the Australian Open. This hard court championship was first played in 1905 and was a men’s only event. In 1922, women also started competing in the Australian Open championship.  It got its current name the Australian Open in 1969. The tournament is held in Melbourne Park in Melbourne and is one of the toughest tennis tournaments. Novak Djokovic has won the Australian Open title a record nine times.

List of Australian Open Championship Winners Male (2011-2021)

Year                             Men
 WinnerRunners Up
2011Novak DjokovicAndy Murray
2012Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal
2013Novak DjokovicAndy Murray
2014Stan WawrinkaRafael Nadal
2015Novak DjokovicAndy Murray
2016Novak DjokovicAndy Murray
2017Roger FedererRafael Nadal
2018Roger FedererMarin Cilic
2019Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal
2020Novak DjokovicDominic Thiem 
2021Novak DjokovicDaniil Medvedev

List of Australian Open Championship Winners Female (2011-2021)

Year                        Women
 WinnerRunners Up
2011Kim ClijstersLi Na
2012Victoria AzarenkaMaria Sharapova
2013Victoria AzarenkaLi Na
2014Li NaDominika Cibulkova
2015Serena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2016Angelique KerberSerena Williams
2017Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2018Caroline WozniackiSimona Halep
2019Naomi OsakaPetra Kvitova
2020Sofia KeninGarbine Muguruza
2021Naomi OsakaJennifer Brady

The French Open Championship

French Open Championship began in 1891 and was limited to French players only. In 1897, ladies’ events were also included, and in 1925, non-French players were also allowed to participate. In 1968, French Open Championship became the first Grand Slam tournament to become “open” by allowing professional players to compete. French tournament Open is played on a clay court and playing conditions are tougher as the ball tends to be higher and slower than any other surface. Players need to adopt different strategies and tactics to win. Roger Federer with 13 French Open titles to his name is known as the King of Clay. Chris Evert is the only woman so far to have won seven French Open titles.

List of French Open Championship Winners Male (2011-2021)

YearWinnerRunners Up
2011Rafael NadalRoger Federer
2012Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2013Rafael NadalDavid Ferrer
2014Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2015Stan WawrinkaNovak Djokovic
2016Novak DjokovicAndy Murray
2017Rafael NadalStan Wawrinka
2018Rafael NadalDominic Thiem 
2019Rafael NadalDominic Thiem 
2020Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2021Novak DjokovicStefanos Tsitsipas

List of French Open Championship Winners Female (2011-2021)

YearWinnersRunners Up
2011Li NaFrancesca Schiavone
2012Maria SharapovaSara Errani
2013Serena WilliamsMaria Sharapova
2014Maria SharapovaSimona Halep
2015Serena WilliamsLucie Safarova
2016Gabrine MuguruzaSerena Williams
2017Jelena OstapenkoSimona Halep
2018Simona HalepSloane Stephens
2019Ashleigh BartyMarketa Vondrousova
2020Iga SwiatekSofia Kenin
2021Barbora KrejcikovaAnastasia Pavlyuchenkova

Wimbledon Championship

The All-England Championship popularly known as the Wimbledon Championship is the third grand slam event. It got its name from Wimbledon, the place where the event is held. Wimbledon grand slam championship is also the oldest as it started in 1877. The event takes place in late June and early July. It is the only grand slam event played on a natural grass court. Women’s events of the Wimbledon tennis championship started in 1884. Initially, the Wimbledon event was for amateur players only but in 1968, it was opened for professionals as well. Roger Federer holds the record for most Wimbledon Championship wins with 8 titles.  Pete Sampras has seven Wimbledon Championship wins to his record while Novak Djokovic has won the prestigious title 6 times. Bjorn Borg first made history with five consecutive wins in the Wimbledon Championship.

Among women, Martina Navratilova has the most wins 9 to her credit including six consecutive victories in Wimbledon Championship.  Steffi Graf and Serena Williams have won the Wimbledon Championship title seven times each respectively.

List of Winners of Wimbledon Championship Men (2011-2021)

YearWinnerRunners Up
2011Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal
2012Roger FedererAndy Murray
2013Andy MurrayNovak Djokovic
2014Novak DjokovicRoger Federer
2015Novak DjokovicRoger Federer
2016Andy MurrayMilos Raonic
2017Roger FedererMarin Cilic
2018Novak DjokovicKevin Anderson
2019Novak DjokovicRoger Federer
2020                                                    NO TOURNAMENT DUE TOCOVID-19 PANDEMIC
2021Novak DjokovicMatteo Berrettini

Winners of Wimbledon Championship Women (2011-2021)

YearWinnerRunners Up  
2011Petra KvitovaMaria Sharapova
2012Serena WilliamsAgnieszka Radwanska
2013Marion BartoliSabine Lisicki
2014Petra KvitovaEugenie Bouchard
2015Serena WilliamsGarbine Muguruza
2016Serena WilliamsAngelique Kerber
2017Garbine MuguruzaVenus Williams
2018Angelique KerberSerena Williams
2019Simona HalepSerena Williams
2021Ashleigh BartyKarolina Pliskova

US Open Championship

The US Open Championship is the last event of the Grand Slam and takes place in New York (USA) every year. The event begins every year since 1881 on the last Monday of August and continues till the second week of September. Initially, it was played on grass and then clay court, and finally, in 1978, the acrylic hard court was introduced. There are many interesting facts associated with US Open Championship such as it is the only Grand Slam event to offer equal prize money to both men and women. US Open championship is also the first Grand Slam Championship to feature night matches. It is also the first Grand Slam event that allows players to challenge line calls using the Hawk-Eye system.

Among men, Jimmy Connors, Pete Sampras, and Roger Federer have won the US Open Championship title five times each. Chis Evert and Serena Williams have the honor of winning the women’s singles title six times each.

List of US Open Champion Winners (2011-2021)

YearWinnerRunners Up
2011Novak DjokovicRafael Nadal
2012Andy MurrayNovak Djokovic
2013Rafael NadalNovak Djokovic
2014Marin CilicKei Nishikori
2015Novak DjokovicRoger Federer
2016Stan WawrinkaNovak Djokovic
2017Rafael NadalKevin Anderson
2018Novak DjokovicJuan Martin del Potro
2019Rafael NadalDaniil Medvedev
2020Dominic ThiemAlexander Zverev
2021Daniil MedvedevNovak Djokovic

List of US Open Championship Winners (2011-2021)

YearWinnerRunners Up
2011Samantha StosurSerena Williams
2012Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka
2013Serena WilliamsVictoria Azarenka
2014Serena WilliamsCaroline Wozniacki
2015Flavia PennettaRoberta Vinci
2016Angelique KerberKarolina Pliskova
2017Solane StephensMadison Keys
2018Naomi OsakaSerena Williams
2019Bianca AndreescuSerena Williams
2020Naomi OsakaVictoria Azarenka
2021Emma RaducanuLeylah Fernandez

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *