The era of 1999-1990 in men’s French Open tennis tournaments hasn’t been dominated by one player but many best tennis players claimed the French Open trophy.

Playing at clay hasn’t been very easy for every player which highlights Sampras who failed at winning a single title in his glorious tennis career. The era of the ’90s couldn’t produce any kind of clay-like Bjorn Borg who bagged 6 French Open titles and held on to this record till Nadal took over the clay court and equaled 6 French Open Grand Slam records.

The tennis legend, Jim Courier won the French Open championship twice during this period.

The list of male winners and runner-ups of the French Open tennis championship during 1999-1990 is as follow:

Year 1999-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Andre Agassi
  • Runner-up: Andre Medvedev

Year 1998-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Carlos Moya
  • Runner-up: Alex Corretja

Year 1997-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Gustavo Kuerten
  • Runner-up: Sergi Bruguera

Year 1996-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Yevgeny Kafelnikov
  • Runner-up:1996: Michael Stich

Year 1995-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Thomas Muster
  • Runner-up: Michael Chang

Year 1994-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Sergi Bruguera
  • Runner-up: Alberto Berasategui

Year 1993-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Sergi Bruguera
  • Runner-up: Jim Courier

Year 1992-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Jim Courier
  • Runner-up: Petr Korda

Year 1991-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Jim Courier
  • Runner-up: Andre Agassi

Year 1990-French Open Tennis

  • Winner: Andres Gomez
  • Runner-up: Andre Agassi

American Andre Agassi somehow managed to make it to at least the runner-up. Hardcourt and grass court provide a reasonable pace and speed to the players however clay court slows down the pace which is why many hard courts and grass court champions were left clueless on the clay, leading to single or no French Open titles.

Tags: champions and runnerups of french open, French Open, french open champions 1999-1990, french open male champions, french open runners-ups, French Open winners and runner-ups male, from 1999-1990, Grand Slam, Jim Courier, Ken Rosewall, player, sports, tennis, the French Open championship, the French Open trophy, World number one male tennis player rankings

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *