ICC World T20: Best Captain World Cup Wise

Under the dazzling captaincy of Mahindra Singh Dhoni, India won the first ICC World T20 which was played in South Africa, beating Pakistan in the final. During 2007 ICC World T20, MS Dhoni played his first match of the tournament as captain against Scotland which was abandoned due to rain.

The next match was between India and Pakistan where Indian bowlers defeated Pakistan 3-0 in first ever World T20 Bowl Out and moved to Super 8s and then into the Semis. India faced its arch rival Pakistan in the final and the nail biting match ended in India’s favour where Dhoni held the first T20 World cup Trophy.

The year 2009 was the year for Pakistani team who won the ICC World T20 trophy under the captaincy of Younis Khan. Younis Khan played 7 matches as a captain of which he won 5 matches, ensuing in a success ratio of 71% during 2009 ICC World T20.

During 2010 ICC World T20, the best captaincy crown was kept on the head of English Skipper Paul Collingwood who led the England to win the 2010 ICC World T20 Cup by defeating Australia. These are the best captains of 2007-2010 ICC World T20.

ICC World T20: Best Captain Nation Wise

Following is the list of top best captains from each nation in cricket. The list is based on the skippers who have won most matches as a percentage of total matches they played during 2007-2010 ICC World T20

  • Michael Clarke
  • Shoaib Malik
  • K Sangakkara
  • GC Smith
  • CH Gayle
  • MS Dhoni
  • PD Collingwood
  • J Smits
  • DL Vettori
  • P Utseya
  • WTS Porterfield
  • M. Ashraful
  • SO Tikolo

ICC World T20: Best Captain to Date

A fast tracked strategist, a keen observer and decision maker under whom a cricket team play as a unit is none other than a captain of the team. He is the binding force who is not only a source of inspiration for any team in their crucial matches but also take advantages of opponents’ weaknesses and improvise strategies according to the rhythm of the game.

All these qualities are well knitted in one person Graeme Smith of South Africa who has rebuilt the confidence of South African team and emerged as the most successful and best captain during 2007-2010 ICC World T20. Graeme Smith’s captaincy during T20 cricket world cups has remained phenomenal.

He played 16 matches as a captain of the Proteas, of which they have won 11 matches across the board, ensuing in a winning ratio of whopping 68%. Under his captaincy, South Africa has lost 5 matches in ICC World T20, while none of the matches were ended as a draw.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *