In a limited area of the Garros court, four players, two on each side of the net, move back and forth and sit around waiting for their turn to play. Wait a minute.

Four players in one court? Yes! We are talking about the Men’s Doubles title which is always a treat to watch, as no matter how much the Garros produces friction, the game goes on quickly. The four men manage to run around the court and work out with their partners in developing the best coordination to play the shots.

Like all other Grand Slams, Garros also provide a platform for doubles and always an interesting watch. Many records have been set in the doubles title of Garros in the past which includes the male tennis stars who won the most doubles titles and those who won the consecutive double titles as well. So here is a quick flashback!

Era before 1968

The 14 titles of men’s double before 1968 belonged to Max Decugis who with his excellent play made this record and got massive fame. Along with him, Roy Emerson claimed six doubles titles before 1968.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Paul Haarhuis, Yevgeny Kafelnikov, and Leander Paes won three doubles titles.

Consecutive win of doubles titles

Along with this, some players have set the record of consecutive wins of doubles titles in Garros. The era could be divided into the following:

Era before 1968

Max Decugis won 13 consecutive doubles titles from the year 1902 to 1914. Till this date, no one in the tennis world has reached this record. Along with him, again it’s Roy Emerson who won 6 titles of doubles between 1960 and 1965.

Era after 1967

After 1967, Gene Mayer won twice with Hank Pfister and Sandy Mayor in 1978 and 1979. Yevgeny Kafelnikov and Daniel Vacek won consecutively twice in 1996 and 1997 respectively. Last in Jonas Bjorkman and Max Mirnyi won two consecutive doubles titles in the years 2005 and 2006.

As the Garros event takes place every year, there is an opportunity for young lads like Nadal to break one of these records or at least level them.

Big applause for the legendary players!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *