The Himalaya Mountain Range separates the Indian subcontinent and the Tibetan Plateau. The countries which share the massive Himalaya range of mountains include – Pakistan, India, Nepal, Afghanistan, China and Burma.

Generally, it is also known as a name of a huge mountain system including the Karakoram Range, Hindu Kush and few other lesser ranges.Some of the world’s major rivers like Ganges and Brahmaputra flow from the Himalaya Mountain Range.

The western rivers combine together to form River Indus which flows southwest through India to Pakistan and then into the Arabian Sea. The climate, rainfall, soil conditions, and altitude of this range are quite diversified, generating a vast variety of plants and animal communities.

The world’s second longest glacier called ‘Siachen’ which lies at the India-Pakistan border is part of this great mountain range. There are several lakes in the Himalaya range of Pakistan.

It also has a profound effect on the climate of the country. There are many notable peaks of Himalayas in Pakistan but Nanga Parbat is the most important one being the 9th highest in the world and 2nd highest in the country.

Fact sheet of Himalaya Range in Pakistan

No.Names of Imp. Peaks of HimalayasHeight of Himalayas (m)Location of Himalaya Peaks
1Nanga Parbat8,126Gilgit-Baltistan
2Silberzachen7,597Nanga Parbat
3Rakhiot Peak7,070Nanga Parbat group
4Chongra Peak6,830Nanga Parbat
5Ganalo Peak6,606Nanga Parbat
6Laila Peak5,971Rupal Valley
7Shaigiri5,688Rupal Valley
8Buldar Peak5,602Nanga Parbat
9Malika Parbat5,290Kaghan Valley
10Jalipur Peak South5,215Nanga Parbat
13Jabardar4,511Fairy Meadows, Jalipur
16Chhugam4,064Nanga Parbat
17Makra Peak3,586Kaghan Valley

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *